Call for Papers

SEMDIAL 2018 (AixDial) – Call for Papers

 22nd Workshop on the Semantics and Pragmatics of Dialogue

8th-10th November 2018


AixDial will be the 22nd edition of the SemDial workshop series, which aims to bring together researchers working on the semantics and pragmatics of dialogue in fields such as formal semantics and pragmatics, computational linguistics, artificial intelligence, philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience. In 2018 the workshop will be hosted by Aix Marseille University, and organized by the Language and Speech Lab (Laboratoire Parole et Langage) as well as the Computer Science Lab (Laboratoire d’Informatique et Systèmes). It will be collocated with Workshop on Prosody and Meaning: Information Structure and Beyond.

=== WEBSITE ===

=== KEYNOTES ===

Judith Holler (MPI for Psycholinguistics & Donders Centre for Brain, Cognition and Behaviour)
Olivier Pietquin (Google Brain, Paris)
Michael Wagner (McGill University, Montreal)

=== SCOPE ===

We invite papers on all topics related to the semantics and pragmatics of dialogue, including, but not limited to:

  • semantic/pragmatic interpretation in dialogue
  • common ground/mutual belief
  • goals, intentions and commitments in communication
  • turn-taking and interaction control
  • multimodality: gesture, gaze, intonational meaning in communication
  • dialogue and discourse structure
  • the dynamics of agents’ information states in dialogue
  • interpretation and reasoning in spoken dialogue systems
  • dialogue management
  • categorisation of dialogue phenomena in corpora
  • child-adult interaction
  • language learning through dialogue
  • designing and evaluating dialogue systems
  • machine learning applied to dialogue
  • experimental approaches to dialogue (eye-tracking, time responses,…)
  • using physiological mesures (breathing, pulse, perspiration,…) for dialogue study
  • neurophysiology of dialogue (EEG, FMRi, FNIRS,…)


Authors should submit an *anonymous* paper of at most 8 pages of content (up to 2 additional pages are allowed for references). Formatting templates and instructions (Latex and Word) can be downloaded here. The submission will be hadled with easychair on this website :

There will be a later a call for 2-page abstracts describing system demonstrations and/or ongoing projects relevant to the topics of the workshop. Here is the link for short paper submissions :


Submissions due             : ***June 10th, 2018***
Notification                      : ***August 3rd, 2018***
Demo / Project deadline : September, 7th, 2018
Final version due            : ***October 5th, 2018***
AixDial                            : November 8-10th, 2018


Benoît Favre (LIS, Aix Marseille Université)
Magalie Ochs (LIS, Aix Marseille Université)
Laurent Prévot (LPL, Aix Marseille Université)

 === Program Committe ===

Philippe Blache (CNRS, Aix Marseille Univ)
Sara Bögels (Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics)
Heather Burnett (CNRS, Université Paris-Diderot)
Harry Bunt (Tilburg University)
Mathilde Dargnat (Université de Lorrain, ATILF-CNRS)
Paul Dekker (ILLC/University of Amsterdam)
Emilie Destruel (University of Iowa)
Raquel Fernández (University of Amsterdam)
James German (Aix Marseille Univ)
Jonathan Ginzburg (Université Paris-Diderot)
Eleni Gregoromichelaki (King’s College London)
Julian Hough (Bielefeld University)
Christine Howes (University of Gothenburg)
Julie Hunter (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
Amy Isard (University of Edinburgh)
Andrew Kehler (UC San Diego)
Simon Keizer (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
Ruth Kempson (Kings College London)
Staffan Larsson (University of Gothenburg)
Alex Lascarides (University of Edinburgh)
Pierre Lison (Norwegian Computing Center)
Eric McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)
Gregory Mills (University of Groningen)
Matthew Purver (Queen Mary University of London)
David Schlangen (Bielefeld University)
Gabriel Skantze (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
Matthew Stone (Rutgers, State University of New Jersey)
Ye Tian (Amazon Cambridge Development Centre, Alexa team)
Shu-Chuan Tseng (Academia Sinica, Taipei)
Grégoire Winterstein (Hong Kong Institute of Education)


Stéphanie Desous (LPL, Aix Marseille Université)
Benoît Favre (LIS, Aix Marseille Université)
Simone Fuscone (LPL-LIS, Aix Marseille Université)
Océane Granier (LPL, Aix Marseille Université)
Magalie Ochs (LIS, Aix Marseille Université)
Laurent Prévot (LPL, Aix Marseille Université)


Raquel Fernandez (University of Amsterdam)
David Schlangen (Bielefeld University)